April 22, 2024

Iran drawn in Group E in AFC U16 Championship 2014 qualifiers

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (1 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)

TehranTimes – TEHRAN, Iran has been drawn against the UAE, Pakistan and Sri Lanka in Group E of the AFC U-16 Championship 2014 qualifiers.

The Group winners of the 10 groups and the best five runners-up will join host Thailand in the finals of the next year’s competition, AFC site wrote.

The AFC U-16 Championship started back in 1985 and the finals in Bangkok would be the 16th edition of the competition.

Kuwait, Uzbekistan, Nepal, Jordan, Pakistan and Kyrgyzstan will host the matches of the West Zone while Laos the hosts of East Zone, apart from Laos hosting Group H, will be confirmed later.

The sides finishing at the top four positions will qualify to represent Asia in the FIFA U-17 World Cup to be held in Chile in 2015.


Group A: Kuwait, India, Tajikistan, Lebanon, Bhutan

Group B: Uzbekistan, Yemen, Palestine, Maldives

Group C: Iraq, Bahrain, Nepal, Turkmenistan

Group D: Syria, Saudi Arabia, Afghanistan, Jordan

Group E: Iran, UAE, Pakistan, Sri Lanka

Group F: Oman, Qatar, Bangladesh, Kyrgyzstan

Group G: Australia, Singapore, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Macau

Group H: Korea Republic, Laos, Malaysia, Guam, Brunei

Group I: China, DPR Korea, Myanmar, Northern Mariana

Group J: Japan, Indonesia, Vietnam, Philippines