Iranians nominated for The AFC Annual Awards 2019

Posted by on
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (1 votes, average: 4.00 out of 5)

Tasnim – HONG KONG, Persepolis FC and Iran goalkeeper Ali Reza Beiranvand, Japan’s versatile defender Tomoaki Makino and AFC Asian Cup UAE 2019 star Akram Hassan Afif of Qatar lead the nominees for the AFC Player of the Year – Men’s category at the AFC Annual Awards Hong Kong 2019.

Meanwhile at the event to be held at the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre on December 2, China PR’s Li Ying, who was part of the team in the FIFA Women’s World Cup France 2019, Indian stalwart Loitongbam Ashalata Devi and Japan’s captain Saki Kumagai are the frontrunners for the AFC Player of the Year – Women’s category.

Beiranvand is famously known for saving Cristiano Ronaldo’s penalty at the 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia and he repeated the feat against Oman in the AFC Asian Cup UAE 2019 to lead Iran to the semi-finals. He has been an inspirational figure in goal for both club and country but outside the pitch, he remains a strong advocate for social responsibility.

Sardar Azmoun of Iran has been nominated for the AFC Asian International Player of the Year. The Zenit striker will vie for the award with Makoto Hasebe from Japan and Son Heung-min of South Korea.

Iran futsal player Mahdi Javid is among the nominees for the AFC Futsal Player of the Year along with Tomoki Yoshikawa (JPN) and Yushi Sekiguchi (JPN).

Iranian coach Katayoun Khosrowyar will compete with Asako Takakura from Japan and Thailand’s Nuengrutai Srathongvian for the AFC Coach of the Year (Women) award.

Football Federation Islamic Republic of Iran has been also nominated for the AFC Member Association of the Year (Inspiring) along with Japan Football Association and Korea Football Association.

Recent Headlines: