X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Raha Shams Iranian ref in Italy

دمت گرم شیر زن

https://www.trackpersia.com/iranian-...stacles-faces/

Raha Shams, born in Isfahan in April 1990, received her Bachelor’s degree in accounting, and always played football in her hometown. (Supplied)

By Payam Younesipour

December 18, 2020

She sits in the back seat of a car driving at high speed on one of Isfahan’s highways. Due to a technical defect, the car suddenly deviates from its course, hits the wall of the highway, tumbles and rolls for more than 150 meters. Three of her vertebrae are broken and part of her spine is severely damaged.

This is the story of Raha Shams, or part of it. She is now a referee in Italian league futsal.

“I have been playing futsal since I was a teenager. When I was a student, I continued playing football; it was part of my daily life. I remember student tournaments in Isfahan. After the last game, when we were supposed to go to the national competitions, we had to travel a long distance by road. It was the Ramadan Cup [named after the Muslim month of fasting] games and the matches lasted until midnight because they could not begin until an hour after dusk. That night something happened in my life. All I can remember is that I was sitting in the back seat. The car suddenly tumbled and was swinging in the air. Five vertebrae in my back broke. Two vertebrae in my neck were also crushed. That night, I was at the highest level of football in my life. I was supposed to participate in national competitions and then study to become a referee. But when I got to the hospital, the first thing I heard from the doctor was that I had a spinal cord injury. I called my father and cried. My parents came, hired a private ambulance and took me to another hospital. This was not the whole tragedy. It was five days before I was operated on. That was the year that President Ahmadinejad ordered a five-day holiday for [the holy day] Eid al-Fitr. The doctor said that,